Banana Bread

28 Jan

I have a hunch that Boyfriend plots.  He buys bananas every week, and doesn’t eat all of them. He lets them sit there and get brown, only then to say “Oh no, the bananas are getting ripe…” juuuuust as I’m in earshot. He does this so that I get the notion in my head to make banana bread with them. He thinks the can just put the thought into my head, and have nothing to do with it. But it’s alright, I love him anyway 🙂


I must confess that even though I have everything from blueberry crumb bars (a family favorite), to 15 different types of cookies, and 30 types of cupcakes. I have made cupcakes look like a bowl of spaghetti, I have covered things in hot caramel sauce, I have made-from scratch- an entire croquembouche. But the ONE thing that has given my problems has been banana bread. I know, it sounds so simple. Every time I made it, it was either too gooey, or too dense, or doesn’t even taste like banana.

Not anymore, thanks to America’s Test Kitchen.  Boyfriend’s brother’s girlfriend got him a copy of The Family Baking book for Christmas, and I think I’ve used it way more than he has.

The key to any good baking is weighing the ingredients, and now I can thanks to Boyfriend’s parents who got me a kitchen scale for Christmas.  I may or may not have squealed when I opened the box…

There are tons of ways that you could fuss with this recipe.  Swapping applesauce for some of the butter, using whole wheat flour in place of some of the AP flour, different flavors of yogurts, or even some brown sugar in place of the white.  But the few times I have made this, I have stuck with the recipe. Why mess with a good thing? Plus, remember? I can’t bake a decent banana bread to save my life.  I am not going to go messing with someone just quite yet 😛

Banana Bread

from The America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups (10 ounces) all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup (5 1/2 ounces) sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 large very ripe bananas, mashed well (1 1/2 cups)
  • 6 Tb (3/4 stick) butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a loaf pan.
  2. Whisk the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt together in a large bowl.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk the mashed bananas, melted butter, eggs, yogurt and vanilla together.
  4. Gently fold the banana mixture into the flour mixture with a rubber spatula until just combined (don’t over-mix) Batter will look thick.
  5. Scrape batter into prepared pan and smooth the top. Bake until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with just a few crumbs attached, about 55 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through the baking.
  6. Let the loaf cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and let cool for 1 hour before serving.
3 Responses to “Banana Bread”

  1. Jen January 28, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    If he says that again just tell him you will freeze them until you are ready.

    • raenikkolena January 29, 2011 at 12:45 am #

      Ya know, I have tried that before. And maybe I did something wrong (seriously, bananas hate me) but I didn’t like the texture they had when I defrosted them.

  2. nkschum February 7, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    that’s right, i plot!
    *taps fingers together like mr. burns*

Leave a Reply

