Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies

21 Jan

Now that we are in a new year, I’m sure at least one of us has gone into the “I’m going to eat nothing but lettuce for a month” mode. Okay, well maybe not that intense, but just like everyone else in the world, I’m sure we all want to lose weight and tone up for the coming year. How many of us have already slipped up on that? -Raises hand-

Okay, maybe we have slipped up a little bit, but what’s life without some guilty pleasures? Luckily, I have been experimenting with recipes. Trying to see how I can make those old favorites and comforts a little bit easier on the clothes we already have in the closet. An easy way to do this is with lots of whole grains.

Think about how many things we eat in a day that can be converted into whole grain. Breads, rice, cereal, tortillas, pasta… It takes a little bit of getting used to if you’re used to the sugary taste of whitened products, but once you go there, you’ll find that it’s hard to go back.  Boyfriend and I buy everything either “brown” or whole grain now, and we love it. But that doesn’t mean we don’t live a little too 😛

Although this doesn’t taste like a super traditional chocolate chip cookie, the sentiment is still there. Actually, I think it’s even a little bit better than it’s buttery, sugary counterpart. The oats add this chewy-ness that makes you feel like you’re eating something healthy. And the whole wheat flour adds some nuttiness. You could certainly add some toasted nuts to this if you wanted, or even some peanut butter. Next time I think I’m going to add pecans and ground flax to bump up the protein.

Chocolate Chip cookies

Adapted from eatingwell.com

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup rolled oats, ground (i ground them first then measured)
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup canola oil (you could easily replace this with apple sauce)
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat 2 baking sheets with cooking spray.
  2. Grind oats in a blender or food processor. Transfer to a medium bowl and stir in flour, baking soda and salt. Beat butter and sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add egg and beat. Add oil and vanilla; beat until smooth and creamy. With the mixer running, add the dry ingredients, beating on low speed until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips with a wooden spoon.
  3. Drop the dough by heaping teaspoonfuls, at least 1 inch apart, onto the prepared baking sheets. Bake cookies, 1 sheet at a time, until firm around the edges and golden on top, about 15 minutes. Cool the cookies for 2 minutes on the baking sheets, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.
4 Responses to “Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Kerry January 22, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    I’ve never thought of making chocolate chip cookies with oatmeal, but those pictures make me really want to try it! Also, I love your blog name. I really did laugh when I first saw it on foodgawker because the whole reason I started my blog was I was always baking for my boyfriend too. Nice to know I’m not the only one!

    • raenikkolena January 23, 2011 at 8:17 am #

      I was a little nervous too about the oatmeal, I didn’t think they were going to look like “normal” cookies, but they sure fooled me!

      And our boyfriend’s sure are lucky men!

  2. Kat @ Cupcake Kat January 22, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    I love these they sound much healthier than regular chocolate chip cookies but still look delicious!

  3. Medifast Coupon January 22, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    Hands everywhere are clapping! These look great, and the healthy substitutions make them even better! Great recipe post, and the photo’s are adorable!

Leave a Reply

